April 18, 2019

Main Content

Rad tech student; grad studies, MLS faculty, students; dental hygiene students gain national, state distinctions

ASRT selects rad tech student for leadership program

Portrait of Chase Keenan

The American Society of Radiologic Technologists has selected Chase Keenan, a first-year radiologic sciences student in the School of Health Related Professions, to participate in its 2019 Student Leadership Development Program.

He was elected by his peers at the 2018 Annual Conference of the Mississippi Society of Radiologic Technologists to serve as one of two student delegates representing all radiography students in the state.

Keenan is one of nearly 100 radiologic science students from across the country chosen to participate. He will receive an all-expenses-paid trip to the 2019 ASRT Educational Symposium and Annual Governance and House of Delegates Meeting from June 20-23 in Orlando, Florida. He will attend educational courses for students and the House of Delegates meetings, and he will be assigned a professional mentor.

The ASRT represents more than 155,000 members who perform medical imaging procedures or plan and deliver radiation therapy treatments. The society also provides radiologic technology students with the tools, services and support they need to prepare for careers in medical imaging and radiation therapy.


Grad studies students, fellows, faculty rack up EB awards

FASEB logoMembers of the School of Graduate Studies in the Health Sciences received multiple awards at the Experimental Biology conference April 6-9 in Orlando, Florida.

EB is the annual meeting of five societies representing more than 12,000 scientists from the fields of anatomy; biochemistry and molecular biology; investigative pathology; pharmacology; and physiology.

UMMC's award recipients included:

Ph.D. students

Erika Guise Williams (physiology and biophysics) and Hannah Turbeville (experimental pharmacology and therapeutics) – Finalists, American Physiological Society Water and Electrolyte Homeostasis Section Portland Press Predoctoral Research Recognition Award

Elena Dent, Jason Engel and Victoria Wolf (physiology and biophysics) – APS Caroline tum Suden/Frances Hellebrandt Professional Opportunity Award

Jason Engel – Finalist, APS Renal Section Predoctoral Excellence in Renal Research Award

Tyler Lomax (physiology and biophysics) and Jamarius Waller (experimental pharmacology and therapeutics) – APS Martin Frank Diversity Travel Award

Edgar Meyer and Ellen Robertson (clinical anatomy) – Finalists, American Association for Anatomists Anatomical Sciences Education/Postdoctoral Education Research Poster Award

Postdoctoral fellows

Dr. Bhavisha Bakrania and Dr. Jessica Bradshaw (physiology and biophysics) – Finalists, APS Water and Electrolyte Homeostasis Section Juan Carlos Romero Postdoctoral Research Award

Dr. Edgar Torres Fernandez (cell and molecular biology) – APS Virendra B. Mahesh Award of Excellence in Endocrinology


Dr. Michael Ryan, (physiology and biophysics) – APS A. Clifford Barger Underrepresented Minority Mentorship Award


MLS faculty, students win ASCLS elections, earn honors

ASCLS logoMedical Laboratory Science faculty and students in the School of Health Related Professions were elected officers and received several awards at the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science Louisiana and Mississippi 2019 Bi-state Annual Meeting in Monroe, Louisiana.

Those elected into ASCLS offices included: Dr. Jana Bagwell, president; Dr. Rene Wilkins, president-elect; Dr. Felicia Tardy, president of student forum; Dr. Stacy Vance, chair of professional and economic affairs; Dr. LaToya Richards Moore, board of directors; and Dr. Shannon Milbourne, MLS junior student, ASCLS-MS Student Forum president.

Those who received awards during the meeting included: Bagwell, ASCLS Member of the Year and Regional Omicron Sigma Award; Bagwell, Tardy and Vance, State Omicron Sigma Award; and Amira Esmaeil, MLS senior student, MLS Lois B. Jones Scholarship Award.


Dental hygiene students attain national board perfection

SOD 100 percent pass graphic

Fourth-year dental hygiene students in the School of Dentistry achieved a 100 percent pass rate on their national board exams March 30. All 20 students in the class passed the exam.

The “perfect” pass rate students are: Katie Bragg, McKenzi Bynum, Brittany Clark, Brittany Coleman, Carlee Doty, Brianna Dyess, Madison Evans, Alicia Freeman, Jazzma Hughes, Stephanie Johnson, Bailey Jones, Lauren Kitchens, Molly McCarty, Callie Pope, Ana Popich, Ashley Porter, Makenzie Rials, Addie Spring, Ha Tran and Christy Williamson.