July 9, 2018

Main Content

Awards season: Inspired Programs, Good Catch, Resident Spotlight


Mental health technician earns first Good Catch Award


Chris Tobias, a mental health technician on 3 Circle, received the first Good Catch Award from the Patient Quality and Safety Group.

Tobias noticed a patient on the unit was improperly taking and disposing of medication, a significant discovery because the patient’s condition had not improved with the current medication regimen. The medication also could have been ingested by another patient on the unit.

Developed during the 100-day Workout, the Good Catch Award recognizes UMMC employees who have discovered potential events before patients are harmed. Risk Management identifies these events through I-CARE reports.

To report events, call Risk Management at 5-1994. For more information about the award, email Elizabeth Smith at esmith5@umc.edu or Elizabeth Toony at etoony@umc.edu.


STEP, pipeline programs garner national magazine award

insight_logo_r.jpgINSIGHT Into Diversity, the oldest and largest diversity magazine and website in higher education, has selected the University of Mississippi Medical Center’s Science Training and Enrichment Program (STEP) and its Pipeline into UMMC Programs for its 2018 Inspired Programs in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) Award.

The award is presented by the magazine as a tribute to programs that “encourage and inspire a new generation of young people to consider careers in science, technology, engineering and math,” according to Lenore Pearlstein, publisher of the magazine. “Your award-winning program continues to make a significant difference through mentoring and teaching, research, and other efforts worthy of this national recognition.”

STEP provides academic enrichment in math, science and critical thinking for disadvantaged and underserved students in Mississippi; UMMC’s pipeline programs recruit and enrich disadvantaged and underrepresented students to the Medical Center.


Residents council shines ‘spotlight’ on award recipients

From left, Adiba, Myers, Morgan and Sanandajifar

The Chief Residents Council has named Dr. Afifa Adiba, house officer in psychiatry;

Dr. Brandon Myers, house officer in emergency medicine;

Dr. Jarrett Morgan, house officer in medicine/pediatrics; and

Dr. Hasti Sanandajifar, house officer in pediatric cardiology, as recipients of its resident Spotlight Award for the third and fourth quarters of the 2017-18 academic year.

The quarterly award recognizes residents who display leadership, dedication to service, commitment to patient-centered care and commitment to the enrichment of themselves and others through education, teaching and scholarship.