April 26, 2018

Main Content

SOD faculty gets Wyman Award; rad sciences, med students earn honors



Med-surg materials body taps SOD faculty for award


Dr. Michael Roach, associate professor of biomedical materials science in the School of Dentistry, has been selected by the Committee F04 on Medical and Surgical Materials and Devices to receive the 2018 LeRoy Wyman Award from the American Society for Testing and Materials.

Roach will receive the award at the society’s May 23 meeting in San Diego, California.

ASTM International is a globally recognized leader in the development and delivery of voluntary consensus standards. The Leroy Wyman Award is presented to engineers and material scientists who have served with distinction on the committee and have proven evidence of leadership and significant contributions.

The Committee F04 on Medical and Surgical Materials and Devices develops standardized test methods, specifications and performance standards for medical and surgical materials and devices. The standards play a vital role in all aspects important to materials, orthopaedic devices, testing, tissue engineering and medical/surgical instruments. The committee was formed in 1962 and has approximately 900 members.

Roach’s laboratory is one of only two academic labs in the United States with ISO 17025 certification, the international standard for testing and calibration laboratories. His research involves the development of antimicrobial coatings for implants, quality assurance for orthopaedic implant manufacturers and testing of power surgical tools.

Rad sciences students elected to leadership posts

Ross, Luke and Burford
Ross, Luke and Burford

Three first-year students in the Radiologic Sciences Program have been recently elected to leadership positions for the School of Health Related Professions.

From left, Hannah Ross and Kelsie Luke have been chosen Student Alumni Representatives (STARs) while Madison Burford has been elected vice president of the SHRP’s Associate Student Body (ASB).

Dr. Kristi Moore, chair and associate professor of radiologic sciences in SHRP, said, “I am extremely proud of these students and believe they will be a wonderful representation for our school.”


First-year medical student earns AOA fellowship


Elizabeth Wicks, a first-year medical student, has been awarded a $5,000 fellowship by the national medical honor society Alpha Omega Alpha to conduct a research project starting this summer.

Under the terms of the 2018 Alpha Omega Alpha Carolyn L. Kuckein Student Research Fellowship, Wicks will have until June 30, 2019 to submit a final report on her work, “Immunomodulatory Biological Scaffolds to Create a Pro-regenerative Environment in the Eye.”

Only one candidate from a medical school may be nominated for the national award. The fellowship program honors the late Carolyn L. Kuckein, longtime administrator of AOA and an honorary member of the society.

An Ocean Springs native, Wicks earned her B.A. in international studies and French at the University of Mississippi in 2017.

“I am thrilled to be a recipient of the Alpha Omega Alpha Carolyn L. Kuckein Student Research Fellowship and am honored to be representing the University of Mississippi Medical Center on a national level,” Wicks said.