Main Content

Family medicine chair gets lifetime commendation, Campus Police officers named TOP COPs

Published on Thursday, May 25, 2017

Published on May 25, 2017

A retiring family medicine chair receives a service honor from a statewide organization; three UMMC officers earn TOP COP awards and the Medical Center's stroke team garners a "Get with the Guidelines" distinction from the AHA/ASA.  

Mississippi physicians honor Beebe's lifetime of service


Dr. Diane K. Beebe, who is retiring from UMMC on June 30 as chair and professor of family medicine, has been honored by the Mississippi Academy of Family Physicians for her years of service to the organization.

An MAFP member since 1984, Beebe was recognized with a resolution presented to her at an April 21 meeting of the MAFP Board of Directors.

According to the resolution, “Her selfless contributions to the medical profession, her community, her state, and her nation are too numerous to list, but noted with deep gratitude.”

Beebe previously served as vice chair and residency director for the Department of Family Medicine, mentoring thousands of medical students through the years.

“Dr. Beebe taught so many medical students to be compassionate and competent physicians,” said Dr. Sue Simmons, MAFP president. “We are grateful for her service.”

Beebe has been instrumental in the advancement of the family medicine specialty in Mississippi. She served as the first director of the Office of Mississippi Physician Workforce, created by the Mississippi Legislature in 2012. She also was a commissioner for the Mississippi Rural Physicians Scholarship Program, established in 2007. Both of these programs have brought awareness to the shortage of and the increasing need for family physicians in Mississippi.

Beebe has served as a member and chair of the American Board of Family Medicine and chair of the ACGME Residency Review Committee for Family Medicine. She has contributed extensively to national medical publications as a writer, editor and reviewer.



Campus Police officers earn TOP COP commendation

UMMC's TOP COP officers include, from left, Benito Haymer, Da'Varius Jackson and Eric White.
UMMC's TOP COP officers include, from left, Benito Haymer, Da'Varius Jackson and Eric White.

Three UMMC police officers have been recognized for their service to the community and their action in apprehending a man suspected in a domestic disturbance.

Eric White, Benito Haymer and Da'Varius Jackson were honored May 18 at the TOP COP Awards and Police Memorial at the Mississippi Trade Mart in Jackson.

According to Deveesha Magee, UMMC deputy chief, on April 8, 2016, the trio responded to a report of a domestic disturbance on campus in which a hospital visitor was allegedly assaulting his girlfriend. The man fled in his vehicle, ramming a patrol car as he sped from campus.

The UMMC officers pursued the man into Jackson, where the officers apprehended him following a brief foot chase.

“This is an outstanding achievement and an opportunity to be among many good officers with exemplary performance and a genuine desire to protect the public,” said Michael Stamps, UMMC Campus Police chief. “Officers White, Jackson and Haymer's commendable performance, in keeping with the finest traditions of police service, reflects great credit upon themselves, our police department and the University of Mississippi Medical Center.”



AHA/ASA honor UMMC for getting with stroke guidelines

The Medical Center has been named among the Get With The Guidelines-Stroke Gold Plus Target: Stroke Honor Roll Elite Plus by the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association.

UMMC was honored for the care it provided to stroke patients during calendar year 2016.

“UMMC is impacting the lives of so many by using the American Heart Association's premier hospital-based quality improvement program, Get With The Guidelines, for treatment of patients,” said Kristen Isom, director of quality systems improvement for the Mississippi American Heart Association/American Stroke Association. “Thank you for your hard work and dedication to improving stroke care in the state of Mississippi.”