Main Content

Endocrinologist to receive prized MACE; grad students, fellows earn biology honors

Published on Thursday, May 4, 2017

Published on May 04, 2017

An endocrinology professor will earn a major distinction this weekend while several graduate students and postdoctoral fellows strike gold at a national conference.  

Endocrinology professor to receive MACE Award


Dr. Christian A. Koch, professor of endocrinology, will receive the 2017 Master of the American College of Endocrinology Award May 6 during the convocation at the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists' 26th annual Scientific and Clinical Congress in Austin, Texas.

The MACE Award is presented to an AACE member who has received Fellow of the American College of Endocrinology distinction and is recognized as a distinguished endocrinologist, a role model for developing endocrinologists and a contributor to AACE and to the art and science of endocrinology.

After earning FACE distinction in 2001, Koch joined the Medical Center in 2006 as professor of endocrinology and director of the Division of Endocrinology. While at UMMC, he has built multidisciplinary academic programs resulting in collaborative publications and growth of the endocrine fellowship program. He serves as editor of several prestigious journals and textbooks.



Students, fellows take experimental biology honors

Multiple graduate students and postdoctoral fellows received travel awards to attend the annual Experimental Biology conference in Chicago April 22-26. At the conference, other graduate students and fellows received individual honors for their research and presentations.

Awardees by discipline included:

Biochemistry: Dr. Carolina Dalmasso received the American Physiological Society Caroline tum Suden/Frances Hellebrandt Professional Opportunity Award; Stephanie Njemanze received the APS Barbara A. Horwitz and John M. Horowitz Outstanding Undergraduate Abstract Award; and Maryam Syed received the APS Endocrinology and Metabolism Section Campbell Award.

Clinical Anatomy: Edgar Meyer and Ellen Robertson received the American Association of Anatomists travel awards.

Medical Pharmacology: Dr. Lorena Amaral received the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics Underrepresented Postdoctoral Scientist Travel Award and APS Minority Travel Fellowship Awards; Dr. Mark Cunningham received the APS Water and Electrolyte Homeostasis Section Research Recognition Award; Xiaochen He received the APS Cardiovascular Section research recognition; Kasi McPherson received the APS Physiologists in Industry Committee Novel Disease Award; and Ramana Vaka was a finalist in the APS WEH Section predoctoral competition, for the ASPET Predoctoral Travel Award, for the ASPET Mentoring Network Travel Award and for the ASPET Best Presentation Award.

Physiology: Dr. Samuel Adeosun won the APS Gastrointestinal and Liver Section Poster of Distinction; Gwen Davis received the Steven M. Horvath Opportunity Award; and Adrian Eddy, Erika Guise and Dr. Erin Taylor received the APS Caroline tum Suden/Frances Hellebrandt Professional Opportunity Award.

Medicine: Dr. Edgar Torres-Fernandez received the APS Caroline tum Suden/Frances Hellebrandt Professional Opportunity Award.

The Experimental Biology conference is the annual meeting of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology, which includes six societies comprised of more than 14,000 scientists and 50 guest societies.

EB is open to anyone with an interest in the latest research impacting life sciences. Its primary focus areas include anatomy; biochemistry and molecular biology; investigative pathology; nutrition; pharmacology and physiology.