Main Content

Dental students earn national distinction

Published on Thursday, April 14, 2016

Published on April 14, 2016

A pair of second-year School of Dentistry students achieve national recognition for their academic excellence: one receives an American Dental Association scholarship, while the other is selected to serve on an American Dental Education Association committee.   

ADA Foundation selects D2 for predoctoral scholarship


Andrew Tran, a second-year dentistry student at UMMC, is one of more than 50 dental students nationwide to receive a Predoctoral Dental Student Scholarship from the American Dental Association Foundation.

The ADA Foundation's program helps predoctoral dental students defray some of their academic expenses. The foundation annually awards about 54 scholarships of up to $2,500 each, amounting to about $135,000 in scholarship funding for deserving dental students.

To be eligible for the scholarship program, students must be enrolled full-time in their second year of study at an accredited dental school while maintaining a minimum 3.25 grade point average. The foundation accepts one application per school for the dental student scholarship.



ADEA selects D2 for student planning committee


Maureen Malingkas, a second-year student in the School of Dentistry, has been selected by the American Dental Education Association to serve on its Student Annual Session Planning Committee.

Malingkas was one of three students selected for the committee among a nationwide pool of applicants. The committee will be organizing the meetings and events for the ADEA's 2017 annual session in Long Beach, California.